IPL 2021 Players Retention: Players, Fans React As Glenn Maxwell, Steve Smith, Others Are Released


With the deadline for player retentions ahead of IPL 2021 auctions ending on Wednesday, teams did their chopping and changing to lighten their purse ahead of the February auction. Some big-ticket players were released while most teams retained their core group of players. Glenn Maxwell (Kings XI Punjab), Steve Smith (Rajasthan Royals), Lasith Malinga (Mumbai Indians), Harbhajan Singh (Chennai Super Kings) and Aaron Finch (Royal Challengers Bangalore) were some of the big names to miss out. Sanju Samson was named captain of Rajasthan Royals.


“The plan was keep the core of the team,” said KXIP’s head coach Anil Kumble

Big-hitter Maxwell was let go by KXIP after a poor run with the bat in IPL 2020, and fans were ready with alternate team choices for the Australian “Big Show.”

“MI should go for Maxwell. Off spinner and a pace power hitter. If any team can get him to perform, it is this team,” tweeted one user.

“I have a feeling that #CSK might go behind #Maxwell. Let’s see!” tweeted another.

Others weren’t happy with Maxwell’s omission.

However, Smith’s exclusion seemed to make sense for some, given that overseas stars like Ben Stokes, Jofra Archer and Jos Buttler have been indispensable. 

Fans were quick to remember that Smith played alongside MS Dhoni in the now-defunct Rising Pune Supergiant.

Harbhajan will look for a new team as well and there were several opinions on his next avenue.

Luck wasn’t on Aaron Finch’s side on Wednesday as hours before he was released by RCB, he was bowled off a deflection off his thigh pad in a BBL match – it couldn’t get any unluckier for Australia’s limited-overs skipper.

However, Finch has a chance of playing for a ninth IPL team in his career.

Some of the other players released by the teams were Chris Morris, Umesh Yadav and Dale Steyn (Royal Challengers Bangalore), Piyush Chawla, Kedar Jadhav, Murali Vijay (Chennai Super Kings), Alex Carey, Keemo Paul, Mohit Sharma (Delhi Capitals), Oshane Thomas, Tom Curran, Ankit Rajpoot (Rajasthan Royals), Tom Banton and Chirs Green (Kolkata Knight Riders).

Topics mentioned in this article

Source link


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *